What are convergent boundaries? What are the three types?

Convergent boundaries happen when two pieces of Earth’s crust move together. The three types of convergent boundaries are; ocean to continental crust; ocean to ocean crust; and continental to continental crust.

Ocean to Continental Crust: Ocean to continental crust boundaries create a subduction zone where ocean crust is pushed under continental crust. Continental volcanic Arcs are formed on land such as the Andes mountain range.

Ocean to Ocean: Ocean to ocean crust also has one piece of ocean crust pushing under another piece of ocean crust because of density differences (one piece of ocean crust is less dense than the other to cause this).

Save your time - order a paper!

Get your paper written from scratch within the tight deadline. Our service is a reliable solution to all your troubles. Place an order on any task and we will take care of it. You won’t have to worry about the quality and deadlines

Order Paper Now

This action causes Volcanic Island Arcs such as the Aleutian Island chain .

Continent to Continent: Continent to Continent crust occur with the convergence of two continental plates. This causes large folded mountain ranges such at the Alps and the Himalayan mountain ranges. Continental crust can never subduct.

"Our Prices Start at $11.99. As Our First Client, Use Coupon Code GET15 to claim 15% Discount This Month!!":

Get started